The challenge of giving a new life to a brownfield site was taken up by this high-quality real estate complex. It is a unique opportunity to redefine a site with a strategic visibility and positioning. The following elements led the development of the site: to maximize the area’ s integration to the urban fabric, to provide a diverse range of residential units, to leverage the sector’s attractions (schools, downtown, green zones) and strategic location (public transit), and to create an attractive living area with particular attention paid to the interfaces between the semi-public and private spaces of the project.

 

The construction method prioritized prefabrication and not only aimed at the performance and control of the building’s envelope, but also the speed of its execution and the minimization of nuisances for the occupants during the later stages. The viability of a volumetry exceeding the neighboring 2-storey building was a challenge for the feasibility of this pioneering project. The simple volumes and carefully chosen materials allowed the project to be modularized and the top floors to be lightened. The various projecting balconies and loggias enhance the modular design and ensure a certain intimacy between neighboring balconies. The finely chiseled and generous openings ensure maximum luminosity in the units.

 

The buildings are either street-facing or face a network of pathways and promenades that are integrated into the landscaping. The aim is to inhabit a large green space with quality landscaping. To achieve this goal, most of the land is covered with vegetation and almost all the parking is located underground. Besides the large private balconies, the site is itself a part of the residential offer. Emphasis was put on ensuring that the semi-public spaces are an extension of the residents’ living environment.

PHOTO CREDIT: Steve Montpetit

LOGGIA

2017 | SAINT-LAMBERT

The challenge of giving a new life to a brownfield site was taken up by this high-quality real estate complex. It is a unique opportunity to redefine a site with a strategic visibility and positioning. The following elements led the development of the site: to maximize the area’ s integration to the urban fabric, to provide a diverse range of residential units, to leverage the sector’s attractions (schools, downtown, green zones) and strategic location (public transit), and to create an attractive living area with particular attention paid to the interfaces between the semi-public and private spaces of the project.

 

The construction method prioritized prefabrication and not only aimed at the performance and control of the building’s envelope, but also the speed of its execution and the minimization of nuisances for the occupants during the later stages. The viability of a volumetry exceeding the neighboring 2-storey building was a challenge for the feasibility of this pioneering project. The simple volumes and carefully chosen materials allowed the project to be modularized and the top floors to be lightened. The various projecting balconies and loggias enhance the modular design and ensure a certain intimacy between neighboring balconies. The finely chiseled and generous openings ensure maximum luminosity in the units.

 

The buildings are either street-facing or face a network of pathways and promenades that are integrated into the landscaping. The aim is to inhabit a large green space with quality landscaping. To achieve this goal, most of the land is covered with vegetation and almost all the parking is located underground. Besides the large private balconies, the site is itself a part of the residential offer. Emphasis was put on ensuring that the semi-public spaces are an extension of the residents’ living environment.

PHOTO CREDIT: Steve Montpetit

Donner une nouvelle vie à une friche industrielle est le défi relevé par cet ensemble immobilier de grande qualité. Il s’agissait d’une occasion unique de requalifier un site ayant une visibilité et un positionnement stratégiques. Les éléments suivants ont orienté les efforts de mise en valeur du site : maximiser l’intégration du site au tissu urbain, déployer une offre résidentielle diversifiée, miser sur les attraits du secteur (écoles, centre-ville, espaces verts) et sur son emplacement privilégié (transport en commun), créer un milieu de vie attirant au moyen notamment d’une attention particulière portée aux interfaces entre les espaces semi-publics et privés du projet.

 

La méthode de construction priorisant la préfabrication visait d’une part une performance et un contrôle de l’enveloppe, mais aussi la rapidité d’exécution et la diminution des nuisances sur le site des phases ultérieures pour les occupants. L’acceptabilité d’une volumétrie dépassant les gabarits de 2 étages voisins représentait un défi pour la faisabilité de ce projet précurseur. La simplicité des volumes et un choix stratégique de matériaux ont permis de moduler l’ensemble et d’alléger les étages supérieurs. La variété de balcons en saillie et en loggia accentue la modulation et assure une certaine intimité entre les balcons des différentes unités voisines. Finement ciselées et généreuses, les ouvertures assurent une luminosité maximale dans les logements.

 

Les bâtiments ont soit front sur rue, soit une vue sur un réseau de sentiers et de promenades intégré à un aménagement paysager. L’idée est d’habiter un large espace vert avec un aménagement de qualité. Pour ce faire, la majeure partie du terrain est végétalisée et le stationnement est presque entièrement souterrain. En plus des vastes balcons privés, le site lui-même fait partie de l’offre résidentielle. Un soin particulier y est apporté afin que les espaces semi-publics deviennent des prolongements du milieu de vie des résidents.

CRÉDIT PHOTO : Steve Montpetit

LOGGIA

2017 | SAINT-LAMBERT

Donner une nouvelle vie à une friche industrielle est le défi relevé par cet ensemble immobilier de grande qualité. Il s’agissait d’une occasion unique de requalifier un site ayant une visibilité et un positionnement stratégiques. Les éléments suivants ont orienté les efforts de mise en valeur du site : maximiser l’intégration du site au tissu urbain, déployer une offre résidentielle diversifiée, miser sur les attraits du secteur (écoles, centre-ville, espaces verts) et sur son emplacement privilégié (transport en commun), créer un milieu de vie attirant au moyen notamment d’une attention particulière portée aux interfaces entre les espaces semi-publics et privés du projet.

 

La méthode de construction priorisant la préfabrication visait d’une part une performance et un contrôle de l’enveloppe, mais aussi la rapidité d’exécution et la diminution des nuisances sur le site des phases ultérieures pour les occupants. L’acceptabilité d’une volumétrie dépassant les gabarits de 2 étages voisins représentait un défi pour la faisabilité de ce projet précurseur. La simplicité des volumes et un choix stratégique de matériaux ont permis de moduler l’ensemble et d’alléger les étages supérieurs. La variété de balcons en saillie et en loggia accentue la modulation et assure une certaine intimité entre les balcons des différentes unités voisines. Finement ciselées et généreuses, les ouvertures assurent une luminosité maximale dans les logements.

 

Les bâtiments ont soit front sur rue, soit une vue sur un réseau de sentiers et de promenades intégré à un aménagement paysager. L’idée est d’habiter un large espace vert avec un aménagement de qualité. Pour ce faire, la majeure partie du terrain est végétalisée et le stationnement est presque entièrement souterrain. En plus des vastes balcons privés, le site lui-même fait partie de l’offre résidentielle. Un soin particulier y est apporté afin que les espaces semi-publics deviennent des prolongements du milieu de vie des résidents.

CRÉDIT PHOTO : Steve Montpetit